Business Development & Conflict Resolution

We assist individuals with starting their own businesses because small business is key to economic independence and community sustainability.

How to Succeed, Step Back and Re-group

As a small business owner, I have learned that sometimes you have to take a step back, re-group, and re-focus. Sometimes you have to stop doing things a certain way, in order, to grow your business. Also, you should not be afraid to do things differently. After being in business for about a year, I have had to take analysis of my business techniques and see what was working and what was not working. One example is my decision to start doing workshops and seminars on topics concerning small business. My first workshop I did, in March 2014, was a success and I did not charge a fee for the workshop. I made some good business connections that would benefit my business in the long-run. Then, I decided to do a workshop and charge a fee in May 2014, and I had to cancel that workshop because no one signed up for it. I had to learn that during the summer time many people are not really thinking about attending workshops or seminars because they are preparing for summer holidays and summer vacation.

Based on the last workshop not being a success, I decided to take a step back and figure out how to better do my workshops and seminars. After, consulting with my mentor and other colleagues, I decided to run my workshops for approximately six months out of the year. Also, I decided not to charge for every workshop that I conduct during the six months, and provide time, after each workshop, for consultations for anyone who may have questions. I decided to invite other business owners to participate in my workshops or seminars, for a nominal fee, to promote their business and to provide valuable information concerning the services and products they offer. I decided to do certain workshops or seminars on a yearly basis.

I did research by interviewing other business owners who have been successful conducting workshops and seminars to get pointers from them. I have read books about how to give effective presentations, do effective workshops, and how to get clients from conducting workshops. Also, I have attended workshops and seminars given by other business owners to observe, get pointers, and learn how to do a successful and effective workshop.

Through trial and error, I am learning that you will always learn and grow as a small business owner. Also, I have learned that you should never assume that you know everything and do not need to learn anything new to be effective at what you do. You will always learn something new from books and others no matter how old you get. So, do not be afraid to take a step back to re-group and re-focus because when you do see how far you can go in life.

Donya Zimmerman is a business consultant, mediator, and legal professional with over ten years of experience.  She is owner of Family & Community Mediation and Business Consulting (FACMBC) based in Baltimore, Maryland and has been in business since 2013. Services provided by FACMBC:  Mediation and Conflict Resolution Services; Business Registration Assistance (Limited Liability Company, Corporation, S-Corp, Limited Liability Partnership, etc.); Business Plan Drafting Assistance; Business Certification Assistance (MBE, WOSB, 8A, 501(c) (3), Hub Zone, etc.); and Business Organization Assistance. She is also a contributing writer to the Maryland Daily Examiner Newspaper. Contact information: dzimmerman36@gmail.com; www.facebook.com/FACMBC; www.twitter.com/FACMBC; https://dzimmerman36.wordpress.com

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “How to Succeed, Step Back and Re-group

Leave a Reply

