Business Development & Conflict Resolution

We assist individuals with starting their own businesses because small business is key to economic independence and community sustainability.

Why Entrepreneurship Chose Me?

When I was sworn in as a licensed attorney in 2000 with the State of Maryland, I had no clue what I would do next or where I would work.  I had been sending my resume to various law firms for employment. But, I was unsuccessful in finding employment as an Associate Attorney with any law firm.  For the 100 resumes I sent out to various law firms, I was contacted only by ten law firms for an interview.

My mother stated to me, “Instead of, waiting for a law firm to hire you as an Associate Attorney.  You should start your own law practice.”  With that advice from my mother, I attended a workshop entitled “Before Hanging-Out Your Shingle”, which teaches new attorneys how to properly setup a solo practice.  The one setback of the workshop was that it did not properly prepare new attorneys for the “business” of running a law practice.  The workshop did teach new attorneys the importance of professional liability insurance.  The workshop clearly stated that an attorney must have professional liability insurance to protect them from lawsuits filed by disgruntle clients.

I was in private practice as an attorney for approximately ten years, before having to close my law practice.  I closed my law practice because of mismanagement, I had become very unhappy litigating cases in court, and lack of support from other solo practitioners (attorneys who had their own law practice). I officially closed my law practice in 2012 and I had to take a break from the workforce to figure out my next moves.

After much research I chose business consulting and mediation/conflict resolution.  I started to do research on what type of training I needed to become a business consultant and mediator.  I took training through Community Mediation of Prince George’s County, MD (CMPG) to become a certified mediator.  To become a certified business consultant I trained through the Women Entrepreneurs of Baltimore, Inc. (WEB), the Small Business and Technology Development Center (SBTDC), and the Small Business Administration (SBA).

I opened my new business, Family & Community Mediation and Business Consulting (FACMBC), on May 5, 2013.  I have been in operation for two years now.  The services that FACMBC offer to clients are mediation services and business consulting services to individuals, small businesses, and non-profit organizations.  FACMBC services are organized in four areas: mediation, business formation, and minority owned business certification completion, and workshops/training seminars for future business owners.

I took another amazing turn, as a second time entrepreneur, in 2014 when I was encouraged to write inspirational books by my business mentor.  It is important to have a mentor as a small business owner or entrepreneur because they can guide you on this path of entrepreneurship.  I started a subsidiary business, under the umbrella of FACMBC, on April 5, 2014 called Powerful Biz Woman.  With Powerful Biz Woman, the clientele are women between the ages of 35 years old to 65 years old, who are in the second phase of their lives and careers.  With Powerful Biz Woman, I am writing books to inspire entrepreneurs and telling my story to anyone who wants to hear it.  With Powerful Biz Woman, I have begun to do more public speaking on various platforms geared towards female entrepreneurs, startup companies, and non-profit organizations.  I never thought in my wildest dreams that I would be sharing my story of success, failure, and success again as a female entrepreneur.

I am having great success as an entrepreneur the second time around due to the following reasons:

  • Completed a business plan;
  • Created a good marketing plan for each aspect of the business;
  • Created a good networking system of fellow entrepreneurs;
  • Continue to take training on how to properly run a business;
  • I always look for opportunities to reach my ideal customers through marketing and promotion of my business; and
  • I am enjoying what I am doing as an entrepreneur.

I am so glad that entrepreneurship chose me and I would not have it any other way.

Donya Zimmerman is a business consultant, mediator, and legal professional with over ten years of experience.  Donya is also a public speaker and aspiring author.  She has a few books in the works that will be published and released in the latter part of 2015. The books will focus on entrepreneurship, small business, and daily devotionals.  She is owner of Family & Community Mediation and Business Consulting (FACMBC) and Powerful Biz Woman (subsidiary of FACMBC). Both are based in Baltimore, Maryland and were established in 2013 and 2014. Services provided by FACMBC:  Mediation and Conflict Resolution Services; Business Registration Assistance (Limited Liability Company, Corporation, S-Corp, Limited Liability Partnership, etc.); Business Plan Drafting Assistance; Business Certification Assistance (MBE, WOSB, 8A, 501(c) (3), Hub Zone, etc.); and Business Organization Assistance.  Services and products provided by Powerful Biz Woman are workshops: Entrepreneurship 101; How to Stay Out of Tax Trouble and Legal Trouble in Small Business; Start up 101; and Female Entrepreneurship 101.  Powerful Biz Woman provides books on the following topics: Entrepreneurship 101; Daily Devotionals for Entrepreneurs/Small Business Owners; Daily Devotionals for Female Entrepreneurs; Small Business Owner Tips; Powerful Biz Tips; and Inner Will Power to Make Your Dreams a Reality.  These books will be available starting September 5, 2015. Donya Zimmerman is also a contributing writer with the Maryland Daily Examiner Newspaper and the Leadership Girl Newsletter. Donya Zimmerman has made article contributions to the Simply Inspirational Women in Business Journal for 2014 published by Dr. Cheryl Cottle.

If you are thinking about starting your own small business or non-profit organization do not hesitate to contact Donya Zimmerman because she can show you how to do so. Contact information: dzimmerman36@gmail.com; www.facebook.com/FACMBC; www.twitter.com/FACMBC; https://dzimmerman36.wordpress.com; www.linkedin.com/in/dzbusconsultantandmediator; www.conflictresolutionandconsulting.com.

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

